Deleted User Anonymizer
- Moodle 5.3
- 更新 2026-10-07
Moodle retains some user data by design even after user deletion, which may be a concern depending on the specific data privacy policies of an organisation or local legal interpretations. This plugin anonymizes the remaining personal data in the mdl_user-table after deletion.
Deleted User Anonymizer is a “tool plugin” that anonymizes deleted users in Moodle. There are two ways to trigger the anonymization process:
Event trigger : When a user is deleted, anonymization is automatically triggered for that user.
Manual anonymization : Administrators can manually trigger anonymization for all previously deleted users.
If user fields are not deleted during account deletion, they are anonymized as follows:
The userid remains unchanged.
The firstname is replaced with a random adjective.
The lastname is replaced with a random animal name.
The username is replaced with the new firstname + lastname + a timestamp.
Installation
Clone the repository into the /admin/tool/user_anonymizer directory of your Moodle installation:
Visit Site administration → Notifications to trigger the installation, or run admin/cli/upgrade.php .
Configuration
After installation, the plugin can be configured via: Website-Administration → Plugins → Admin tools → Delay for anonymizing user data
- 5.3.0Moodle 5.3
- 5.2.0Moodle 5.2
- 4.5.2Moodle 4.5